Cart is empty

The Bedlam Stacks : The Astonishing Historical Fantasy from the International Bestselling Author of The Watchmaker of Filigree Street

Publishing house: Bloomsbury Publishing PLC
Author: Natasha Pulley
Available

Worldwide, Baku and countrywide delivery!
Free Baku delivery for orders over 30 azn! Free delivery to Azerbaijani regions for any orders!
ISBN: 9781408878453
From the internationally bestselling author of The Watchmaker of Filigree Street comes an astonishing historical novel set in the magical forests of South America, perfect for fans of The Night Circus, The Essex Serpent and The Muse AN AMAZON BEST BOOK OF THE MONTH Deep in uncharted Peru, the holy town of Bedlam stands at the edge of a forest. The shrine statues move, and anyone who crosses the border dies. But somewhere inside are cinchona trees, whose bark yields quinine: the only known treatment for malaria. By 1859, on the other side of the Pacific, the hunt for a reliable source of quinine is critical and the India Office searches out its last qualified expeditionary, the injured Merrick Tremayne. Against his own better judgement, Merrick finds himself dispatched to Bedlam under orders to bring back cinchona cuttings at any cost. As Merrick travels into hostile territory, he meets Raphael, a priest around whom the villagers spin unsettlingly familiar stories of impossible disappearances and living stone. It is through him that Merrick finally discovers a legacy that will prove more dangerous and valuable than the India Office could ever have imagined.
Article: 9781408878453
Genre: Historical Fiction
Publishing house: Bloomsbury Publishing PLC
Binding: Paperback
Weight, gr: 547
Author: Natasha Pulley
Pages:: 352
language: English

comments0

comments

One click buying (only for orders in Baku)